Love, Faith, Obedience and Sacrifice

Ivy: I don’t think it’s possible. I don’t have enough time, plus where do I get money for transport to and from church on the needed days.

Mark: I will wait till I finish school in order to do Gods work without any interference.

I believe we at one point had these thoughts. I really wanted to serve God. Not that am not, but I wanted to be part of ministry in church. Every time I would think of it, so much excuses will cloud my thoughts.

‘I am not yet done with school, plus I have classwork and all! Fare to and from these weekday service/meetings will be too much. When I have a place of my own I will do this. Now let me finish school’

However I thank God for the fact that he opened up my eyes and I got to better understand service to God.

We all remember the story of that poor widow, who offered the only coins he had as offering to God. She gave it with so much gratitude in her heart. She didn’t have more than that. She gave her all.

I try to understand why somethings happen as they do. God should have provided more to her in order to have left her with some after she had offered a sacrifice! But it didn’t happen that way. Why is it that God didn’t change her situation or even given her more?

This story basically for me brings out three important things in a Christian life:

1. Love for God
2. Faith
3. Obedience and sacrifice

These three things motivated the poor lady to offer so much even more than what the rich people offered in the temple. Why??? Because she gave what she had with a very generous heart.

I may not have a car that will easen my movement from those night keshas, neither enough money to offer whatever little to a children’s in need foundation…. But what of my heart??

Is my heart, willing to do service to God, in whatever little way?

At the end of the day, service to God is not only done in church, (it’s great serving in church) however, service can also be to the community, and those in need.(little tiny ways)

I am not waiting to get more to serve God. God has equipped me with enough that will enable me to serve him at the moment!

But those three things should move me and any other God child to do service to Him

1st Corinthians 15:58
Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.

My prayer:

That my life is service to Him. Whatever little or big way.

What are you waiting for!!! To be perfect to serve Him or???

Stop waiting!!!! You are enough!!! Just you!!!

Powered by Journey.
Leave a Reply

